Finding Hunting Friends

amp713

WKR
Kinda really liked scrolling through all of these posts, makes me feel a little better. I can talk to anyone for an hour but I have a hard time finding people i really wanna be around for long. And that's without throwing hunting and my passion for it into the mix. My dad and his buddy hunted and I started with them but they just don't like to do the same stuff I do and I quickly found myself going without them.... slowly converting them to my side but not near the extent I wish

strand

Lil-Rokslider
I've been hunting mostly solo since I was about 12-13 years old and I'm 30 now and still spend most of my time solo. My mom or dad would drop me off in the river bottoms after school with my bow and pick me up at dark. Nowadays I'm still going solo and I've found that finding a dedicated hunting partner has been harder than finding a 200" buck. One bit of advice when trying to find a hunting partner, and this has just been my experience, if you really have to talk the person in to going hunting with you, there's a good chance neither of you will enjoy the trip. I used to spend time planning hunts with buddies, putting considerable amounts of time in to planning a hunt specifically based on 2-3 guys going hunting, picking areas that have enough hunt able area for multiple guys to hunt, often times in milder terrain than what I would normally pick, just to have them back out. Now I plan all of my hunts based on me being solo, and if someone decides they really want to go, I'll let them talk me in to taking them. So far this hasn't happened and I'm still running mostly solo. When my buddies want to talk about going on a hunt now I tell them, "go ahead and plan it, let me know the dates, and I'll see if I can come." If someone really puts time in to it on their own and calls me with something that even resembles a plan and shows they put some time in to it, I'm way more interested in hunting with that person.