Saran Wrap V game bags

wapitibob

WKR
Plenty of ways to take care of game meat. I've hung em and gotten a crust, thrown it in a cooler with ice and no crust, soaked quarters in an ice bath for a week, talked to a guy from the south that hung their deer for 2 weeks with the hide on, and see no reason why saran wrap wouldn't work if it gets to a cool environment.

OP
B

Beendare

WKR
Lots of guessing here in this thread.

Kevin,
I especially appreciate your comment...and thats the reason I brought it up. If this guy that introduced me to this was some goofball....I wouldn't have mentioned it. This guy is a top outfitter in AZ.....very experienced.

The guys saying, "There is a bacteria everywhere" well of course. His meat is wrapped and on ice in an hour. I wasn't proposing that the meat be wrapped and left in the sun for a day.....

No one I know eats the dried crust on their meat....they trim it off. FWIW, His method has little waste.

I'm not a pro but I do work in a pork processing plant. We have customers from Japan that require our pork to have a 50-60 day shelf life. A couple of things we do to achieve that is to have very minimal water contact with the meat. The meat also gets vacuum packed asap and any product that wasn't sealed 100% airtight is not able to be re-packed for the Japan order. Once the meat is packed it is quickly chilled to bring the temperature down but not to the point where it's frozen. Basically they want to eliminate moisture,air and high temp to prevent bacteria growth.

Probably not applicable to backcountry meat preservation but that's how we do it in the meat processing industry. I think the saran wrap would work if you can wrap it very tight and get it on ice asap.

^ thanks for the comment from a pro.

My buddy that runs a Safeway butcher shop said essentially the same. He emphasizes the handling and cooling of the meat over what its stored in.

Scoony

Lil-Rokslider
Lots of guessing here in this thread.