2017 AZ elk draw odds... what the hell happened?

TheCougar

WKR
Gohunt just dropped their draw stats from 2017. It’s eye watering. Every unit I looked at had a MASSIVE increase in resident and non-resident applicants for archery season. I’m an AZ resident with 10 points, and I went from a 92% draw odds down to a 12% draw odds for the unit I apply in. I’ve never seen anything like it. I looked at 7-8 units and they were all the same. I generally lost 2-3 years before I get back to where I was. I haven’t checked other states yet. Are other states the same? What in the holy hell just happened??????

HuntHarder

WKR
Classified Approved
My unit has better odds on Archery bull. I use hunterstrailhead tho. Maybe gohunts data is messed up

OP
TheCougar

TheCougar

WKR
I don’t know. TopRut shows it as well. I sampled 4 units that are good units and the increases on average were 20%, 30%, 50%, and 100% increase in resident apps (over 1000 apps increased in each unit). I happened to apply in the area with the 100% increase.

sneaky

"DADDY"
You can thank goHunt themselves for the point creep. Guys looked up units, switched points to ones they thought gave better draw odds, and boom, point creep. It's happened all across the board for the most part. Welcome to the double edged sword. You can do your research, but there's a price to be paid. A unit I was going to put in for this year dropped 50% on draw odds, over 60% since 2015.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Beendare

WKR
I think its the draw change bro......and probably a little bit of the better economy giving guys more $$ in their pockets.

A couple years ago, if you were just starting on the points thing....you had a snowballs chance of drawing a tag- Zero...no chance at all.