Unique vacation ideas in Alaska?

endorice

Lil-Rokslider
I have a 30-year anniversary (!) coming up this year. Never made it to Alaska, so I’d like to put together a good vacation up there for my wife.

Time of year would likely be August. I’d really like to do things around the natural beauty of the state and avoid typical tourist cattle operations (cruises, etc.). For example, trips on bush planes seeing remote country. Perhaps a drop to a remote lodge. Seeing the norther lights is on my bucket list, but I believe that’s normally a late season/winter event. And length of the vacation would probably be 7-10 days (TBD).

I’m just getting started planning this, but I’m willing to be there are enough people on this forum that have experience in Alaska that might have some good/unique ideas.

Thanks!

Ray

WKR
After about August 10th, you can see hints of the aurora from midnight until around 3am to as late as 4am. It is best to be north of the 63rd parallel (Tok, Cantwell) and have a clear night sky well away from any town generating light polution. It won't be completely dark but you can see the green haze looking north.

Rent an RV and drive across the Denali highway. Caribou season starts on 8/5 for one class of hunter, and 8/10 for another and then moose on 9/1. A whole 'nother type of experience for AK road hunting.

There are many flight services out of Lake Hood in Anchorage that offer flight seeing or remote lodge drops for bear viewing or fishing. The other option is to head to Talkeetna and take a flight seeing trip around Denali.

One of these days I will make the trip out to Brooks Camp from King Salmon. Fishing and huge bears.

There are several remote lodges in the Iliamna Lake area or further out in Bristol Bay drainages. Most are fishing lodges, but many have non-fishing packages as well.

colonel00

WKR