Learn from my Ignorance - AZ Draw System

I just wanted to put something out there that will hopefully keep other nonresidents from trying what I did this year. To break it down this is my first year applying in AZ. I read the regulations, built an account, and began entering my 2 choices for ELK. All of was good! I purchased my Nonresident License and selected my 2 choices and paid into the system then received receipts. Well where I went wrong is I went back into the system again and instead of choosing the choices I chose purchase Bonus Point just to see what the system would allow. I do know that you can't do both in the same year still I wanted to see what it would do; stupid me. Well I went all the way through it and to my surprise it let me purchase a bonus point so I decided WHY NOT?....Wrong. The system ended up letting me do both without rejecting and the state took the money for all 3 the license, the draw application, and the bonus point 2/12/2018.

Weeks go by and I got to review my dashboard and I see No license, The dreaded "Darn IT" you didn't get drawn, and finally the Awww no bonus points for you! Trifecta right !?! Well I called the agency today and it turns out when I did both all in same day it completely voided my entire years worth of pay, the state of Arizona kept all the money, and cancelled every thing out as if I never even had an account.

So again learn from my mistake. Be cautious and don't think the system is letting you just because it lets your through and takes the money. My ignorance and curiosity cost me money and an entire years worth of applying. This was all at the expense of not following directions....simple as that!

SoTxShooter

Lil-Rokslider
Sorry to hear that. Thanks for sharing your experience. I'll be applying for the AZ mule deer draw for the first time this year as well.

Steve O

WKR
Classified Approved
That is pretty stand up of you to admit that and allow others to learn from your mistakes.