Off Topic - Basement Plumbing

I'm preparing to finish off the basement bathroom rough-in using PEX. I have a friend that works at a local supply house that sells the viega products. The viega press tool sells for roughly $175 and I really don't want to buy one for one-time use.

Do you guys have any other suggestions on which style of pex to run (crimp vs. press vs. expansion)? I know the tools aren't cheap for any of them, but I could borrow the crimp tools. Also, I'm not really keen on using the off brand stuff from the big box stores, so can anyone recommend a brand that you've had good luck with from the supply houses?

I'm fairly new to plumbing, so I'm just looking for advice on which direction to take. It's a fairly small job, and I really don't want to pay $1,000+ to have a contractor come do it.

Vids

WKR
In my last house I did the basement bathroom using PEX, with a crimp tool from Home Depot. Worked like a charm, plumbed the whole thing in about 30 minutes. I can't speak to crimp vs. press vs. expansion though. I just know I'll never go back to sweating copper....

Netherman

WKR
Some tools should be borrowed and some should be owned. I have the same Home Depot crimp tool and found it incredibly easy to use. I would recommend buying the tool and having a few connectors and a few feet of PEX on hand. If you ever have a late night, weekend, or holiday issue you'll be glad you did. For installing wood floors I'll borrow my Dad's floor nailer. For general home repair and emergency repairs I need to own those tools.

sniper61

Lil-Rokslider
Go with sharkbite values and tees and you are done. They make less expensive ones then sharkbite that work great.

wildcat33

WKR