New Android Phones

elkyinzer

WKR
My Galaxy S6 passed on last night. I need a new phone by the weekend and I am not a techie by any means. I know very little about what's on the market. Help! #millenialthathatesthisshit

Criteria:
Android OS
Water resistant basically as bombproof as possible
Rear camera as good or better than S6
Anticipate keeping it at least 3 years
Better battery life preferred
No real budget, willing to spend for better tech that meets my criteria but absolutely not for the sake of having the cool new latest and greatest (probably ruling out the S9)

Questions:
Not stuck to Samsung but its my comfort zone. Any other brands I really need to consider? No Apple btdt.

Leaning toward the S7 but reading that software updates could stop soon? Does that make the phone useless? Vulnerable to viruses? Why on earth would they still sell a phone if they aren't going to support it for a few years? Any workarounds a tech dummy can figure out?

How do the curved screens of the S7 and S8 work? Why is that necessary? How does one get a screen protector on them?

What was the deal with Samsungs batteries blowing up in planes? I assume that has been rectified?

Thanks!

colonel00

WKR
Might as well just jump to the S9 or S9+ unless there's a reason you want an older device. You said budget wasn't really an issue.

Regarding the S7, I had the S7 Edge and now have just the S7. The edge was a little "better" with a slightly larger screen and bigger battery. However, I wasn't a fan of the "Edge" screen. Without a case, my fingers were always on the sides of the screen causing accidental taps.

FWIW, you can pick up an S7 on Ebay for under $200 and then trade it in for $350 towards an S9.

jm1607

WKR
S8 or S9 Active? AT&T only though.. I have the S8 Active, it's about as bombproof as possible nowadays.. No curved screen crap..