.22 LR sight

Dunndm

WKR
What's the best/cheapest sight out there for a .22 Rifle? I only use it to harvest small game and occasional smaller bird.

Any thoughts?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

There are a hundred ways to answer this question.

Do you want a scope? Iron sights? Red dot?

If it is a 10/22 and you like to shoot iron sights I'm a fan of the Tech-Sights. I have them on a takedown model and they are a huge improvement over the factory iron sights.
Ruger 10/22 Products | Tech Sights

If you want a scope, the Leopold 2-7 is a great lightweight rimfire scope with a very useful magnification range
Amazon.com : Leupold 113872 VX-1 Rimfire Scope with Fine Duplex Reticle, Matte Black Finish : Rifle Scopes : Sports & Outdoors

I don't know what kind of red dot, I don't really like them but many do.

OP
Dunndm

Dunndm

WKR
I guess I should have clarified that, I'll be looking for a scope, don't plan on shooting more then 75 yards, it's a semi auto, .22 puma (much more into bows then guns) so I'm not really helpful on info.

OP
Dunndm

Dunndm

WKR
Also trying to keep it in the 75$ range (I use it pretty minimal)

EastMT

WKR
I use an old redfield straight 4x on my 22. Has a super fine target dot in the middle, just about the size of a grouse eye when looking through it. Probability $50 on eBay.

OP
Dunndm

Dunndm

WKR
I use an old redfield straight 4x on my 22. Has a super fine target dot in the middle, just about the size of a grouse eye when looking through it. Probability $50 on eBay.

Thanks for the input.

If I'm going to be shooting on average 40-75 yards would it be better to get a fixed magnified sight, or an adjustable?
I know it's personal preference but what does everyone like?

EastMT

WKR
I like adjustable for some things, but honestly for 22, straight power is my favorite unless it’s on a heavy barreled target rifle. Some of the older redfield 2-7, 3-9 can be in that range also.