Another grizzly attack in Montana...

TheTone

WKR
The specific area that I was referring to is the Cabinet Mtn region in the north east corner of Idaho and just within the past 5-10 years. I have no first hand knowledge, so who knows if it is even true, but instead I have heard 2nd and 3rd hand info from Fed types about problem bears being moved into that area of Idaho, apparently specifically because there aren't many people there?

If this is true, you would think that the prudent thing to do would be to warn the public about this. What would be the harm, except possibly drawing attention to a program that the public disagrees with? But having worked for the Federal gov't before, it would not surprise me at all for this to be occuring and for the authorities to be saying nothing.

Apparently several years ago, some orphaned grizzly cubs (yearlings?) were released into the Coeur d'Alenes, and I didn't see that publicized at all either. Someone that I personally know and respect though, sighted those bears once during the first year after their apparent release....not sure if those bears ever made it though.

I feel very, very confident in saying that problem bears are not being moved from the GYE area to anywhere in Northern Idaho, Northwest Montana, and/or the glacier area. If someone is telling you that consider them a poor source.

slick

WKR
Slick I disagree.First with your idea a bear hunting season would have no affect on behavior.
However as to the Billy Hill incident I can assure you BOTH the Federal and State agencies were involved-particularly in the investigation.I was there.I was actually in the jail when they were holding Bill and the 2 N York bowhunters.
I have no idea why it was trapped and relocated but it was injured in the process.Why relocate in a collaring study?
Please explain what Bill said that is a lie.Be specific not general BS.