Insuring your Optics

Lowke01

Lil-Rokslider
How many people insure their high end optics or bow set ups? I'm a State Farm agent and haven't thought of doing it myself until just now. I'm close to buying some Swarovski SLC 15s so that's what triggered the thought. I just quoted myself for a $1500 bow set up and $3000 of optics with a zero deductible, it's only $65 per year.

Something to think about. I know I would be beside myself if someone grabbed my stuff and I had to pay my $2000 homeowner deductible.

SWOHTR

WKR
We just went over this with our insurance policy, and my binos (10x42 SLCs) are covered under our home policy as personal property. I'm not sure how it changes when you start adding more...ie spotter, more binos, etc.

I know we had to do a rider for my wife's engagement ring.

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
Being an insurance guy yes my binos have an all risk endorsement on them.... I drop them and they are covered without this or other endorsement named peril only on 95% of policies plus your deductible this way no deductible and insured up to the stated value. Would recommend you see how they are covered as theft not the greatest exposure for most avid hunters.👍

OP
L

Lowke01

Lil-Rokslider
We just went over this with our insurance policy, and my binos (10x42 SLCs) are covered under our home policy as personal property. I'm not sure how it changes when you start adding more...ie spotter, more binos, etc.

I know we had to do a rider for my wife's engagement ring.

Yes, the binos or any other sporting equipment would be considered personal property (unless you're a guide and it's business use) but personal property under a home or renters policy is subject to only the loss types that are covered in those policies and will have the larger deductibles.