Ffp or sfp

I am just getting into longer range shooting. I bought my rifle and now is scope time. I have always been a leupold guy but have been looking at some vortex. Are you guys using more ffp or sfp? Thanks for your help.

FFP is my preference. It allows you to have a perfectly scaled ruler in your focal plain for hold overs/under and wind deflection adjustments. Don't get me wrong, I have SFP on some short range point and shoot guns, but for the LR game, get FFP.

PW

Broz

WKR
For long range hunting I much prefer SFP, I like to be able to see the entire reticle on any power. For timed shooting competitions, FFP has an advantage at some stages.

For long range hunting I much prefer SFP, I like to be able to see the entire reticle on any power. For timed shooting competitions, FFP has an advantage at some stages.

What type of optic and reticle are you using for long range hunting that you cannot see the entire reticle in FFP? I'm genuinely curious because I enjoy feedback from other threads and other forums (215g hybrid was my favorite).

In my experience with a handful of Schmidt and Bender scopes that are all FFP and are either 3x-20x or 5x-20x power ranges, I can't recall one time where I struggled to see my reticle. If you're long range hunting, you're leveraging somewhere between 6x-15x power range which gives you plenty of reticle to use. At 3x, it's harder to see, but not impossible. Maybe the difference is my 29 year old eyes which no doubt plays a factor.

I second what Boz says. Most all of my hunting rifles have sfp scopes as I prefer to have the larger reticle all the time. Never know when you will bump one up close and it just makes it easier to pickup in lower light conditions. In a hunting situation more than likely I will have elevation dialed in if I am taking a long shot.