SWFA SS 6x vs. 10X? Also, rings and base questions.....

Just bought one the the Cabela's Savage 12FV in 6.5. Couldn't resist the price and wanted a 6.5 for a while.

I'm not experienced in long range shooting whatsoever, but based on some research and advice I decided to go with a SWFA SS in MIL clicks. I don't want to break the bank, considering I'm saving for some out of state hunts. This is something I hope to turn into a hobby, but I have a lot of other hobbies so I'm very price conscience at this point.

Would you guys go with the 6x or 10x? I worry a little about 10x being a little much on close shots, but the 10x will be better at 500 yds. plus shots. The 12FV is a pretty heavy gun, but I do plan on using it for hunting, especially spring bear in Hell's Canyon where shots tend to be longer. Doesn't mean that 100 yds and in shots aren't a possibility. Keep in mind my effective range at the moment is 400, so I will be doing a fair amount of shooting/practice over the coming year to try and learn this new hobby.

Next question: 30mm low rings and 20 MOA picatinny rail. I plan on bedding the rail and lapping the rings. Looking at the Nightforce rail that retails for around $50.

For rings I've been eyeing the SWFA SS tactical 30mm low rings at $35 or the Burris Extreme Tactical low 30mm rings at $50.

Thoughts on the rail and ring choices? Would like to try and keep weight down a little, but at the end of the day the scope and gun combined are heavy, so not sure if spending over double on the rings will save me any real weight.

Am I off to be looking at low rings? I think with a 42mm objective I should be fine with low rings.

Lots of questions, sorry about that! Trying to make the purchases when things usually go on sale for Black Friday/Cyber Monday.

Thanks!

Jordan Smith

Lil-Rokslider
If you plan on using the rifle primarily for hunting, then I'd go 6x. If target shooting will make up the majority of its use, then the 10x is a better mousetrap.