Hit confirmation

jolemons

WKR
Looking for some advice on target hit confirmation.

I started shooting long range by myself at gongs I set in my pasture. The problem is that when I wear hearing protection I can't hear the gong. Does anyone have a suggestion for confirming hits at a distance of you can't hear the hit or see movement?

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

AdamW

WKR
Are you wearing electronic ear pro? Even at not-as-long ranges, depending on conditions, distance and hearing, you'll get to a point where you're going to need to be seeing the hit through the glass or having someone/phonescope there to do it for you.

Are your gongs AR500 steel or just mild steel? If you’re not seeing your hits your NPA is off, or you’re shooting a high recoil rifle without a brake. Regardless of that though, if you’re using AR500 plate, spray paint them white before each time you shoot. Hard to miss impacts on freshly painted steel

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Neverenoughhntn

Lil-Rokslider
Are you spray painting the gongs? Usually bullet splash can be seen on the gongs quite a ways out there. 1,000 + yds easy.

OP
jolemons

jolemons

WKR
Are your gongs AR500 steel or just mild steel? If you’re not seeing your hits your NPA is off, or you’re shooting a high recoil rifle without a brake. Regardless of that though, if you’re using AR500 plate, spray paint them white before each time you shoot. Hard to miss impacts on freshly painted steel

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ar steel. I'll start spay painting therm. I think that's the solution. Thanks guys

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

electronic ear pro, painting gongs and having a spotting scope setup close-by, if you are shooting prone your NPA is super important, load that rifle and get DID (dick in dirt) low, if you shoot on a tripod a combo of slings and body bag supports can tame that recoil.

Whisky

WKR