Tikka 7MM with X5 for hunting

Hi there,

Looking to get acquire a more serious rifle as my hunting expands in the coming years. I've been researching for hours on the web and this site and have learned a ton along with great info. I'm new to long-range tactics but it definitely looks like something that would be fun to hone longer range shots mainly for practice but if the skill set was learned and I gained confidence, i could see an environmental where a longer shot could provide an advantage.

My primary focus is bow hunting however with 3 boys (oldest at 6) its a lot harder to take them bow hunting and actually be successful at least for the next several years until they get older so i thought rifle hunting may provide more days in the field with them.

From reading the site it sounds like the Tikka is a great off the shelf gun so I plan to check them out (Lefty) in the 7mm. Since my primary hunting grounds will be California (Pig, deer) and Idaho for deer and maybe elk, I was looking for a scope that i wouldn't regret or want to upgrade as my shooting improves and/or future upgrade to a semi-custom gun down the road. Eventually, i'd love to gain confidence to shoot 500 yards at game but also would love to practice at longer distance. I don't mind spending money once for good equipment so i've been looking at the X5, ATACR and the NXS. Would these be completely overkill or provide the growth and platform to take my shooting to the next level with practice. I will shoot factor loads for the time being (used to reload but with kids, no time).

Additionally, my hunting will consist of long walks etc so i know these scopes pack a bit of weight.

Thanks in advance! Looking forward to the years to come.

davsco

WKR