Best way to learn

Got upscale tactical scopes on two rifles and now need to learn how to use em so I can extend my range. Feeling like I'm in a bit in over my head. Shooting ranges are out...too loud to actually hear so I'm thinking I need someone with skills to show me how to use the features in the desert where we can shoot in a quiet place. Going from a BDC to MOAR difficult?

FURMAN

WKR
I personally feel the best way to learn how to shoot long range is go on a prairie dog shoot. I have learned more shooting my 204 and 20VT for hundreds of rounds at a time than I could ever learn shooting my magnums. Shooting varmint rifles at 500 plus yards at small targets, in the switching winds, and unknown ranges will teach you a lot.

mt100gr.

WKR
If nothing else, start punching paper at 100yards. Any trigger time is good trigger time.

Do you have a range finder? And are you hand loading?

You can definitely do it solo and be self taught - just need to start slow.

Once you have established your zero and are confident in that shoot some groups further out. Don't touch your scope, just make sure you have a tall enough target to catch your shots. Not talking steel here, punch holes in something and use your zero hold on the same aiming point. Now you're shooting some "drops" and collecting data.

Eventually, at 500 hundred or so, (on a four or five foot tall target) aim for zero and shoot a handful of shots. Measure that drop (distance from point of aim, to average point of impact) and compare it to a trajectory out put in your ballistics calculator. For instance, if your group prints at 35 inches under POA, cross reference that 35 inches and adjust your velocity input until your computer dope output matches up. If you have a chronograph you should be able to get close on your inputs.