Rebarreling dilemma 6.5-284

Pwells10

WKR
Hey guys, I'm rebarreling my Tikka into a 6.5-284

I'm wanting to shoot the heavier rounds such as 143eldx, 140vlds, 156EOL, etc. What twist should I go with?

1:7 6groove
1:8 6groove
1:8 5R

I posted on Facebook and had a few great responses. Just wanting to hear from you all on your opinions and experiences. I will say I'm really favoring the 156 EOL that I'm wanting to try out once it hits the market.

Brendan

WKR
Hope the OP doesn't mind, but a quick 6.5-284 question. I'm considering one for a future build (I have a Remington 700 LA I need a project for, or I might consider a short action cartridge, and already have .308 and 300 WM)

Any experience with shorter barrel lengths? 22" or 24"? Or, am I going to just end up with speeds similar to a 6.5CM just burning a lot more powder?

OP
Pwells10

Pwells10

WKR
Hey Brenden, don't mind at all! I'm new to this round so I'm welcoming the questions.

Also, just curious, why would you want to go with that short of a barrel? And if you're wanting to re-barrel, order from xcaliber barrels. Right now on any barrel they have 25% off. I ordered the cryogenics to be done to the barrel so I got my blank for 250. If I didn't do cryogenics, it would've cost me 172.50 for a blank. Rediculeous price!

Broz

WKR
It is dependent on bullet weight and powder burn rate, but if you use 20 fps per inch from 22 to 28" of barrel length on the 6.5 -284, I bet you will be close.

Jeff

Brendan

WKR
Also, just curious, why would you want to go with that short of a barrel?