The Truth about Rifle cant and leveling your reticle.

The purpose of this post is hopefully to shed light on some myths about rifle cant and help potential long range hunters set up their rifles with confidence.

A while back a friend asked me take a look at his rifle as he was having difficulty making accurate long range shots from an otherwise very accurate rifle. The rifle itself was capable of .5 inch groups out to 200 yards but he was really struggling to connect at longer distances.

I stared with watching him shoot and shooting his rifle myself. Sure enough as soon as I started shooting his rifle I noticed the the installed bubble level appeared to me to be incorrectly leveled to his reticle. I inquired as to who or how he installed the bubble level. He informed me he had done it by using a level on top of the turret cap and had leveled the rifle action the the scope.

I won’t mention the brand of scope to keep things objective here but I’ll say it’s a well respected and widely used “popular” brand and model of rifle scope.

I took the rifle back to my shop and properly leveled the bubble level using the technique described below. It should be worth noting that the top of the turret was 3/4 of a bubble off of being level with the reticle. This caused me concern that the scope would track vertically correctly. I advised my buddy to run the scope through a tall target test to insure proper tracking after I leveled the bubble. The scope failed its tracking test and was ultimately sent back for a replacement which he immediately sold and upgraded.