cleaning brass or polishing

i am new at hand loading but have had some great results for my 30-06. i was talking to a friend and he was saying im crazy if im not using bras-sol to clean my brass to look for lightning bolts in the brass to determine if the brass is safe to use. this is something i haven't heard of or read about in any of my reloading books and am wondering if this is one mans way of doing things or am i trying to kill my self as it was said by my friend who will not go shoot with me because of this. the bras-sol is sold at the local home hardwear store as a brass polish this is the only info i have seen on it. thanks for everyone's help

LaHunter

WKR
In my opinion, this is not necessary. I just use a rotary tumbler with treated corn cobb media and this works well for me. Reloaders have been doing this for years. Some use a 'wet tumbler' with stainless media and some use the ultrasonic cleaners, and these will really clean up the brass very well, but this is personal preference. Bottom line, you want your brass clean before sizing to prevent damaging your sizing die.
You do need to visually inspect each and every piece of brass during your brass prep process.
I am guessing your buddy's point is that a piece of clean brass is easier to catch defects vs a dingy piece of brass.

rayporter

WKR
i clean each neck and wipe the brass as I give it a spin then pop it in the die. lubed, cleaned and checked all when I size.
rarely get out the tumbler.

ChrisA

WKR
I've been using Iosso brass cleaner with good results. The only down side is waiting for the brass to dry. I don't own a tumbler.

Chris

N2TRKYS

WKR
I size my brass, then clean them in my Frankfort Arsenal tumbler with stainless steel media. I put dish soap and Lemme Shine in with mine. Works extremely well.

Doc Holliday

WKR
Classified Approved
I size my brass, then clean them...