DIY bear hide tanning??

I was lucky enough to tag my first bear, a nice chocolate phase, and was surprised at the cost to have the hide tanned- let alone made into a rug.
While the wife says spare no expense in getting my first bear properly done, my tightwad scottish norwegian DNA says that thats just too much bling to throw around.
I have been asking around and find a 50/50 split between folks who say tanning a bear hide is easy and folks who say its really difficult.

I have been studying up on youtube, and various books and feel as though I might be able to do this myself.... even though I HAVE ZERO TANNING EXPERIENCE... but I have skinned and processed a good deal of animals over the years and im pretty good with my hands.
What say you?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

hush

FNG
I am a taxidermist. Have it professionally done by a reputable taxidermist/tannery. It is a load of work that needs to be done properly. This is not the hide you want to learn on. They need to be fleshed and salted, rehydrated and pickled, degreased, shaved and degreased and then tanned. Anyone who says it is easy has either not done a bear, or not done it properly. Shaving a bear without a fleshing machine is not easy. Proper tanning procedure, timing, measuring the appropriate chemicals, takes experience. Your first nice bear is not a good learning hide. Nice to have the wife on board to have it done! Do research on a GREAT taxidermist or tannery. Have them do it.

Fitzwho

WKR
I tanned a bobcat it college... that was 10 plus years ago, lots of work and I still have the skin... That said, I wouldn’t even consider attempting to tan an animal any larger.

colonel00

WKR