Those who hunt moose in waders

For those of you who have hunted moose in waders, how is hiking around in wading boots? Obviously I’ve never done it and have never wore waders before but I just can’t imagine wading boots being very comfortable covering any kind of ground in.

For some reason I’m trying to talk myself out of wearing waders and wading boots for my hunt but at the same time it seems makes sense if my area is “boggy”

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Maverick940

Banned
For those of you who have hunted moose in waders, how is hiking around in wading boots? Obviously I’ve never done it and have never wore waders before but I just can’t imagine wading boots being very comfortable covering any kind of ground in.

For some reason I’m trying to talk myself out of wearing waders and wading boots for my hunt but at the same time it seems makes sense if my area is “boggy”

When I'm not wearing plastics, I'm wearing hip waders. During a six-month guiding season, I'm in waders at least 70% of the time. I pretty much live in them during those six months. For me they're comfortable and warm when it's cold. The key, for me anyway, is using an insulated "ankle-fit" pair.

Most the brands that make waders and boots have at least a pair or 2 of boots that are made for hiking. I have been looking into the Simms vaportread boot.

AKDoc

WKR
Classified Approved
When moose hunting up here in tundra areas, I'm primarily wearing an ankle fit, insulated, knee-high rubber boot, e.g., Mucks, LaCrosse, etc.

I do also (and always) have chest waders with me just in case, i.e., Simm's G-4's and G-4 boots.

Becca

Super Moderator
Staff member