Father/Son Newfoundland Moose Hunt

My dad recently turned the calendar page on his 60th birthday. His bucket list hunt is a moose hunt, so I told him I would plan it and save up some money to go with him. I've settled on NF because it appears that while bulls aren't huge on the island, there are more shot opportunities. Anybody have any great experiences with outfitters in Newfoundland? Bad experiences? I probably have $9k I could spend, all in. Thanks in advance for any replies.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ChrisS

WKR
I have no personal experience, but two of my friends are heading up there this September for the 2nd week. I'll let you know what they thought.

OP
wilcogeoff
Thanks ChrisS! Do you know which outfitter they are using?

awaldro7

Lil-Rokslider
I am heading up there this September with my Dad and Father in-law. We are going with Effords Outfitters. It is our first time hunting Moose and also first time in Newfoundland. Good Luck. Conne River also looks like a good outfitter but they were booked up when I called them.

OP
wilcogeoff
Awaldro7 somebody else mentioned Bob Efford and said they had a fantastic hunt. It sounds like you are in for a good time. Good luck and thank you for the reply!

Rob in VT

FNG
What weapon do you plan on using? Are you looking for any size Moose, any bull, trophy bull only? I have been to the Rock 3 times Caribou hunting. I have a moose/bear hunt booked for the last week of Sept 2018 with my daughter. We can't wait.

. . . Rob

Following this post to see the progress and look forward to the trip report. I hope to go soon. 2019?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Trial153

WKR
Went to Newfoundland last Oct with my dad. We killed a pair of nice bulls, him with the rifle and me with my bow. We used MVO outfitters they were excellent from start to finish. We rebooked for 2019 which was his first available opening.

Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

Dries

WKR