Hard gun case for Alaska moose hunt

mcseal2

WKR
With the heat index hovering around 105 I've been working until noon and then again in the evening on the ranch, staying indoors the most miserable time of the day. Yesterday was spent locating, organizing, maintaining, and testing some of my hunting gear for fall. This morning I listened to a couple of the Avery Outdoors podcasts on Alaska in the truck while hauling mineral to cattle.

Since lunch I've been doing some work on my Alaska list for my 2018 moose hunt. I've been putting all my gear that goes on the list over my postage or fishing scale and then rounding weights up to the nearest ounce to ensure a little wiggle room. I then put the description and weight of each item I plan to take into an Excel spreadsheet I managed to program to add the ounces of everything I enter and divide it into pounds at the bottom. I figured this would be a good way to make my list while making sure I stay under the 100lb weight limit.

One of the things my fishing scale and I found out is that all my hard rifle cases are heavy. The aluminum one I use in the truck all the time is 17.5lbs. The plastic one I have is 8.5lbs. I definitely want protection for our guns when flying, but I wondered if anyone was using a brand that did the job without using up so much of the weight cap? There are two of us going so we can put both rifles in one case splitting the weight. I'll probably lock and Gorilla tape the case shut so that should help sturdy up a flimsier case too.

Thanks for the help.

mobilefamily

Lil-Rokslider
Most bush pilots ask you to leave the hard case in their hangar. Guns fly to camp in the bushplane stacked on top of luggage, without a case, or sometimes in a soft case.

Jimss

WKR