Simms wader field repair question

mcseal2

WKR
For those who use these what do you use to repair them in the field? I'm asking for the 10 day moose hunt I will be on next year. I see Simms has a repair kit available. I always pack a tube of Seam Grip in my repair kit also, is one better and are both needed? Thanks.

Also is the Freestone pant and boot enough for Alaska, or should I step up to the G3 pant and boot? I will likely only need it to perform without fail on this one trip. I'll probably use them catfishing around home for when the boat gets stuck or it's raining after this trip, but a failure on a Midwestern spring or summer fishing trip isn't the end of the world. The Freestone would be plenty good for that I'd think.

Thanks for the help.

Davebuech

WKR
Seam grip will work so will Aqua seal. I prefer the latter.

No comment on the Freestones as I have no experience. G3's are plenty tough and durable. I have many seasons use out of mine and still going strong but then again Im not Moose hunting in them, just fly fishing.

Gumbo

WKR
G3 all the way, it is a far burlier wader. They will come with a patch kit. I'd also get some Loon outdoors UV wader repair and a UV cure light. It will fix most punctures instantly.

Trial153

WKR
some good Advise. I have the older guide version of the g3 without the pockets to save weight. they been bullet proof.

G3’s are the way
Tenacious tape patch, seam seal with gorilla tape,

Even taken plastic fishing worms and melted them

duchntr

WKR
The g3's are certainly burlier but I'm not sure id recommend them over the freestone if your only going to use them occasionally like a trip a year, but for long term heavy use get the g3's. As for boots I've uses the freestones until they wore out and am now using the rivertek boa's both are great. For field repair aqua seal uv is where its at for quick fixes because it dries so quick.

OP
mcseal2

mcseal2

WKR