AK GMU23 Moose Draw/Regs Changing

carter33

WKR
I plan on doing a moose hunt in GMU23 this next season with my father, already have a transporter lined up. I am a resident of AK and he is a non res. I noticed in the draw supplement that draw hunts for the GMU were no longer listed (DM872/874-876, DM871). This must mean they are either not going to allow non resident hunters to hunt the GMU at all this next year or they are loosening the regs and making it a harvest ticket hunt. I plan on calling ADF&G in the next week about the changes as well.

Does anyone have any info?

Thanks.

Ray

WKR
If you go to the Unit 23 hunting maps it shows that moose in Unit 23 is resident only. Either a registration hunt or a HT. When the regulations are updated on July 1 and published then the tables should show this change.

OP
carter33

carter33

WKR
I found the page you were referring to, thanks. That clears it up, probably going to stick with my planned location in the GMU still as we weren't banking on my father getting a draw. He can still hunt caribou with a HT and bear with a draw it looks like (as well as locking tag of course which is quite expensive after the increase).

Any idea why they closed it to non residents and also did away with the any bull draw? Also I am considering catching a flight to a village to purchase the RM880 tag as I hate having to try and verify 4 brow tines/ 50in spread.

Good question on why they shut it down. If they are going off of what the locals say, it was shut down because of the claim that there are no moose left in the area because all the non-locals are killing every single one they see and leaving the carcasses to rot on the tundra. However, I like to believe the AF&G has a decent reason. Wish i knew it.