Any Moose advice?

bz_711

WKR
I have zero experience with Moose, I've only hunted Elk in CO...but looking for any info that might help me send my dad and his buddy in the right direction.

My dad reached out this week and said a fellow co-worker of his, whose wife phoned my dad asking if he'd want to moose hunt with fellow coworker as a surprise b-day gift from the wife to friend. Both my Dad and him retired approx. 3 years ago at the same time, my dad is 68 and friend is maybe 1-2 years younger. Both have 68 year old knees and are not what I'd call regularly active (no working out) but both get around on their own 2 feet just fine.

I love that my Dad took some interest in this and reached out to me for info - last year he went on what he said was his last bow-hunt for Elk with me in CO...so I was starting to think he might be done with these kinds of hunts. I'd guess they would both be open to either rifle or bow (both still bowhunt whitetails regularly).

So, questions are:

What are their best options for Moose in either 2018 or 2019? No time to build points

Price definitely a factor, but they are not looking for a DIY hunt - so I'm thinking guided or semi-guided

Travel could be factor, knowing them both...the closer to Illinois the better but we understand no Moose are close

Any thoughts/tips...or direction/states/provinces they should reach out to first?

I appreciate any responses...Rokslide has always been a major help...Thanks!

JPHuntingAUS

Lil-Rokslider
Hunting is about more than inches mate.

My understanding is that antler size increases from east to west, so does price.

Moose is on my bucket list and my aim is somewhere between Ontario and newfoundland

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Grambo

Lil-Rokslider