Grizzlies while moose hunting AK/BC

Sapper

Lil-Rokslider
While I’m in the beginning stages of looking for a moose hunt, with AK and BC being of interest, what advice do you have for hunting grizzly territories like these? I have zero experience with them. A buddy and I were looking into a AK diy hunt. Can 2 of you sleep peacefully at night?!

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
People do it all the time. Be smart and bear aware take the time to follow the precautions. We used a electric fence around camp more to protect it while we were gone than while we slept.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

tater

WKR
I can't speak to AK, but everywhere in BC i have hunted (including my home area) has grizzlies.

Realunlucky nailed it above around being bear aware. This means absolutely no food or toiletries like toothpaste stored within 100 yards of your sleeping area. Cooking is 100 yards from camp (i am always amazed at Lower 48 guys cooking in their tents in videos).

A curious bear is not a threat. A curious bear that is startled, has cubs with it, or claims your stuff as its stuff is.

I always encourage people new to big bear country to read 'Bear Attacks: Their Causes and Avoidance" by Dr. Stephen Herrero. Some of the narratives wil give you nightmares, but it also plainly spells out risks and probabilities.

I have never lost a nights sleep bedded down in bear country (i am more worried about breaking a leg crossing a boulder field than bears).
Have I had dry mouth and a massively puckered bunghole moving through ten foot high alder next to a creek with the wind in my face?
Definitely. Because THAT is when it can go wrong quickly.

Great topic. Please keep in mind that my comments are based on my own knowledge and experiences with grizzlies over a pretty good number of hunts and years. I'm in no way arguing with anyone else's thoughts.