Goat shot placement

FishfinderAK

Lil-Rokslider
Hello
My son and I will be going on our first goat hunt in a couple weeks. Drew a tag for the Ketchikan, AK area. I have noticed that a lot of the vids on youtube advise clients to "shoot him in the front shoulder". I assume this is to help pin him down.
Is this where you all try to place the first shot too? As opposed to the vitals area.
Btw I'm shooting a .300 win mag w 180 Barnes TTSX.
Thank you for any help, tips, or advice.

Best of luck on your hunt! Those are some great tags.

I head out this weekend for mountain goat, but in the Chugach.

With a rifle, high shoulder and you should be able to anchor them well.

Have a great time with your son!

KClark

WKR
I'm not a goat expert having shot only one but it makes sense to shoot them in the shoulder, right in the place that "kills them on both ends". In the right spot the bullet will take out both shoulder blades and interrupt the spinal cord ensuring a blang-flop, dead right there, which keeps them from making the 50-100 yard death run over a cliff a heart shot would allow.

Bullet placed a 1/3 of the way down from the top of the shoulder to the bottom of the chest will anchor any animal and make very short blood trail. I used this on my goat as he was on a ledge and would have tumbled 200ft + in one step.

SeGKLEL.jpg

Last edited:
How would you all change that advice for an archery hunter? I leave September 7th for 10 days with Bolen Lewis and I'll be bringing along my bow. I've been looking at vital diagrams and they all seem to differ quite a bit. My reaction from what I've seen is that they do seem a bit higher up and I'm leaning towards halfway up the body in line with the back of the front leg (on a broadside shot of course). Any other points of reference I should be thinking of with a bow?

KClark

WKR
Not a bow hunter so can't honestly help with that but sounds like you have it figured out. The stick slingers will chime in with good advice.