Utah Question

Grundy53

WKR
Quick question. This is my first year applying for Utah. So I'm still trying to learn the ins and outs. I only applied for limited entry permits. Will I still be able to purchase a leftover general season tag when I don't draw a limited entry tag? Thanks for the help.

Sent from my E6782 using Tapatalk

I believe any remaining general buck deer permits go on sale in July around the time that general elk permits do. It has become harder and harder to obtain a good general season deer tag over the years.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

JustHunt

FNG
Utah is a little different in that you can apply for two Mule Deer Tags (but can only draw one). You can put in for a limited entry deer hunt, and put in for a general unit deer hunt. So you should have put in for the general deer draw. There may be some leftovers in some units after the draw, but I don't know much about that.

OP
Grundy53

Grundy53

WKR
Utah is a little different in that you can apply for two Mule Deer Tags (but can only draw one). You can put in for a limited entry deer hunt, and put in for a general unit deer hunt. So you should have put in for the general deer draw. There may be some leftovers in some units after the draw, but I don't know much about that.
Maybe I was mistaken but I thought that they changed it so that if you drew a general tag you would lose your bonus points for limited entry.

JustHunt

FNG
In Utah, it's as if they treat general mule deer and LE mule deer as two different species in that you can build points for both.