Anyone here hunting d5 or d6?

chriso

FNG
I've been hunting D5 my whole life and have pretty good success, I've also had an excellent teacher (pops). I'm new to the backpack hunting as in multiple day trips. I've always hunted out of a camp but usually just loaded a day pack and returned. I'm wanting to get into higher/more desolate country/longer trips. I'm planning on hitting it hard this year. I do most of my hunting solo these days but wouldn't be opposed in finding a hunting partner to do some backpack trips with. I'm going to do a scouting trip next weekend for archery season, any tips on areas to backpack hunt in d5? As long as I'm seeing beautiful country I'm happy, packing a deer out makes me happier but by no means do I expect someone to give me their honey hole. I spend most of my time up hwy 4 around 6k-9k elevation...arnold/camp connel up to highlands/spicers etc. Not super familiar with the hwy 88 side. I've also got a d6 tag this year, never made my way into D6.

brn2hnt

WKR
Lots of country up hwy 4 that is backpackable. It you made it to highlands you've driven past plenty of spots. Can't help much on D6.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

KClark

WKR
Hunting used to be good on the 88 side but not so much anymore. It's one of the most beautiful spots in the west to hunt but notching a tag at high elevation is not a given lately. Pick a good looking area, drive to the end of the road, hike uphill, enjoy.

OP
C

chriso

FNG
I'm pretty familiar with why 4 side considering I grew up exploring those woods. Beautiful country. Deer season I usually start pretty high on up because of weather etc seems that they are up high in my experience early in the season migration n all... well if anyone wants to go on a scouting trip they are more than welcome to tag along.

Last edited:

KClark

WKR