Scouting tips for mule deer?

Lheise88

FNG
This is my first year hunting mule deer. I have a great spot with some giant bucks killed around the area. I've got great optics and one day a week at least to scout. My question is how long do you all sit at daylight and glass before you call it quits. And if you don't see any shooter bucks do you return to that spot and how many times will you give it before calling it quits and moving to another one? Is it ok this time of the year to put boots on the ground and explore new areas. Or will that potentially bump any deer out of the area if I would jump one up? I just ordered Robby dennings book so hopefully that will have some info I can use. I'm going to give this 100% no matter what I have to do.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Maverick940

Banned
I've been known to sit on the same rock all day, every day, if I know that the buck I want to kill is in the area.

mtnkid85

WKR
Ive found, if your walking into a new area you need to move around and get a feel for all the country. Once Ive located a buck Im interested in then I can sit for days on end.

OP
L

Lheise88

FNG
Awesome. I've only seen a few small bucks so far. Still trying to find that shooter so I've been getting nervous since I haven't seen much over 130. Some places I hike to are so thick and nasty in the side hills and canyon bottoms you would never be able to see them or put on a stalk. So I'm trying to eliminate those areas. I'm guessing If there are groups of small bucks together there would be bigger bucks in the same area? Being a Midwest whitetail hunter this is all new to me. I'm absolutely addicted to this and see why you all are as well lol. Just hoping I can locate a couple deer at least to have a few options for the days I get to hunt.

BrianID

FNG