Scouting Expectations for Buck Numbers in Idaho South Central Mtns

zach_c

Lil-Rokslider
I would like to get an idea of how many new bucks per day on average you would expect to see in July & August for pre-season scouting?

I am referring the Idaho South Central mountains, OTC general archery/pre-season scouting. I am aware of the winter we just had here.

Assuming:
  • I have packed in miles from roads
  • Glassing at optimum times and glassing bedding areas throughout the day.
  • 8-10k in elevation
  • I don't skyline myself and use cover when possible to move and obey the wind

Also, I generally hunt solo and only know one other person who hunts, so I really don't have any other basis to know what constitutes a good number of bucks to see in a day. This is my 3rd year for archery, so I am still relatively new at scouting and archery hunting (I am experienced with rifle). For example this year, I spent a 1.5 days and saw 15 bucks. Another outing was 2.5 days and 2 bucks. Thanks

View attachment 55943

Last edited:

sagebuster

Lil-Rokslider
Zach,