Colorado public muleys. Help

Hunterbat

FNG
Alright I’m looking for help on decent units to archery hunt muleys in Colorado I’m open to other states to trying but mainly looking at Colorado at the moment. I’m fairly new to western hunting but have always wanted to shoot a archery mule deer. So I’m wondering what your guys opinions on areas to go for some good mule deer hunting.

Help us out with what your goals are and what type of hunt you want to experience.
It ranges from OTC(zero point draw) to landowner to auction to governor tags.

Hunterbat,

Welcome to the board and it's always nice to see folks interested in taking the plunge in hunting new species in new areas. That said, my guess is that you're not going to get much back in the way of specific information posing a general question like you have. Let me recommend a few things. There is a ton of info out there on different areas to hunt in Colorado. I recommend starting at the Colorado Parks and Wildlife webpage to look at the statistics on draw data and harvest data as well as the game management maps and start to get an idea of where you'd like to hunt. Looking at outfitter websites, reading forums, etc can all give you a sense of what general areas people are hunting. For example, if you want a high country deer hunting experience, all of the High Country Rifle Season statistics are presented (which will help you identify which units would be considered high country and then you can look at the draw and harvest statistics for the archery hunts in those units).

Once you have a unit or two picked out, you can start to ask more specific information on those units. Don't expect people to give away the basins they hunt and where they camp, etc. People are very protective of the areas they've put a lot of research and sweat equity into, and rightfully so. There are also great resources out there behind paywalls, like goHunt, that have a tremendous amount of this information in one space.