New Mexico Mule Deer (Rifle) - What to expect for weather and such

skunk

FNG
Hello,

I'm just getting into western big game hunting after a bit of draw odd research for Mule Deer and decided to apply for the Nov 10-14 Rifle season in New Mexico. However, I've never been to New Mexico and don't know what I should expect as far as weather conditions and such at that time of year.

Weather:
I saw some data on Gohunt that said average high is like 70 and low is around 40. Is that accurate for southwestern NM? I'll be in the Gila / Aldo Leopold Wilderness areas most likely (assuming my party gets drawn).

Driving / Roads:
If I have a 4 wheel drive Tacoma TRD Off Road with stock everything, will I be OK on most of the labeled dirt roads? I've tried checking some of them out via satellite view and some look pretty gnarly but it's difficult to tell.

Water:
My group will be backpacking in and camping (hopefully a few miles in). Is water pretty readily available in the Gila / Aldo Leopold or should we plan on packing in as much water as possible?

Critters:
Are there any dangerous critters I should be worried about at this time of year? Scorpions, snakes, spiders, etc. I'd guess these types of critters would be dormant around this time of year but I thought I'd ask just in case :)

Thanks!

Trial153

WKR
Some of the roads in the Gila are narly yes, but you will be fine with your truck. If not just park and walk. Plan on bringing water, it will make camping easier especially if you can camp higher up.
I wouldnt worry about critters, but i never do any way ..that time of the year you will be fine.

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Maybe rattlesnakes but I’ve never even seen a scorpion in New Mexico (seen a ton in Arizona).

There are black bears and mountain lions but they should leave you alone, especially if you aren’t solo.

You’re truck will be fine, I had more or less the same truck as you and never had any issues.