Southern New Mexico: Where can I expect to find muleys?

skunk

FNG
I drew my mule deer 2nd rifle tag (Nov 10-14) for a southern New Mexico unit that has mountains in the 7-8k ft range but also some more arid, less mountainous area.

The larger, more remote sections of this unit are in the more mountainous area and I'd really prefer to spend my time in that area which includes sections of the Gila National Forest and Aldo Leopold Wilderness. I'll be backpacking in and camping and it seems more appealing to spend time in that terrain.

As a mule deer newbie, I'm not sure if I will be able to find deer in the mountains in November or if they tend to migrate out.

The way I imagine this working is that I get back into some steep and rugged country where others aren't willing to go and then spot and stalk. However, I want to make sure I'm focusing on the right terrain for that time of year.

Where should I generally expect the deer to be in that second rifle season? Also, would it be worth scouting earlier in the year or should I just get down there a few days early and scout then?

Thanks!

You'll find deer at any elevation, in any terrain down there. I grew up in southern NM and I've seen several large deer cruising the creosote flats as well as being up in the 7-8k range. It just depends on the unit and the pressure. By the 2nd rifle hunt the deer have been pounded pretty good. I would recommend staying as mobile as possible and have good glass. The 2nd rifle hunt is tough because it's only 5 days long so you don't have a lot of time to spend in areas where you're not seeing deer.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

OP
S

skunk

FNG