Smokeless 700ML build

Ryanjay11

Lil-Rokslider
I picked up a Stainless 700ML and will be putting together a semi-custom Smokeless build with a stainless .45 1/20" twist Brux barrel, Harrels brake, Jewell Trigger and McMillan Game Scout. I plan to have Arrowhead Sporting Goods put this together.

I'm not new to long range shooting, but I am new to smokeless muzzleloaders. I'm planning to shoot the Parker Match Hunter Bullets and will use a Swing Lock sizing die.

Has anyone else gone down this road? Any tips, loads, or build pictures?

I shoot a Savage ML ll with smokeless powder. They were designed for smokeless powder. Using AA 5744 powder. It's a easy to ignite fairly low pressure powder. There is a good amount of load data for Savages. Could be a starting point. Mine shoots as well as some rifles.

ACC

FNG
Doug's message board is where you need to look for smokeless ml info, lots of the pioneers of smokeless conversions hang out there.

OP
R

Ryanjay11

Lil-Rokslider
Thanks for the tips so far. I've been reading up on Doug's and Hank's message boards. I was surprised to read of all the drama between the two forums. Not sure what that is all about, but both had some great information.

My 700ML showed up last week. I took it apart and sold everything but the action.
IMG_3282_zpsbnmqeg4l.jpg

With some input from Luke at Arrowhead Sporting goods, I ended up ordering a straight fluted 28" Brux Sendero pre-fit, some 270 Parker Emax bullets, and all of the other parts necessary to function. McMillan suggested the Game Warden over the Game Scout because of the contour, and I got in line for the several month wait.

Since I'm impatient, and know my way around putting together rifles, I had Luke send me the parts, which I'll assemble myself.