The perfect western muzzle loader

dotman

WKR
Maybe I'm overthinking the whole thing. If a Knight Mountaineer will stabilize a conical and shoot sub MOA then problem solved! I'll just have to do my part:)

dirtdarte,
May I ask exactly what conical you are using for that kind of accuracy? I have zero experience in shooting conicals. I do cast some bullets and other lead objects, just never played with conicals.

My ultralight stabilizes 465gr lead conicals from no excuses bullets, I have used Thor, Federal and Hornady conicals as well.

The ultralight saves almost 2lbs over the mountaineer, mine if I remember correctly is just over 6lbs and my buddies mountaineer is over 8lbs.

OP
L
I appreciate all the input. I'm a process guy to. I reload my own, make y own slugs and buckshot, tie my own flies, make my hunting knives, even done a few stocks so they were exactly like I wanted them.

I'm already shooting 250 with sabots but they destabilize between there and 300. I just didn't know what direction to go with lead bullets, Aerolites or conicals and so on. I was avoiding the "typical" lead bullet because I shot a few out of a Hawken as a teenager and accuracy was horrible. Now that I know more, it was probably just a bad combination. I'll check out the conicals mentioned. Maybe shoot those as I work into swaging and powder test for more accuracy.

I know the Mountaineer is heavier, I'm a thumbhole guy for long range stuff. It helps soak up some recoil too. I don't mind an 8lb muzzle gun, most of my center fires are 8-10 lb anyway.

Dirtdarte, I am really curious to see if the extra barrel on the mountaineer gives a little extra velocity. It may not be enough to mention, but every bit helps. With winter coming, trying stuff like that keeps me sane through the months of cold and dark.

Thanks for sharing all your experience!

dirtdarte

FNG