CrossFit and hunting

I'm just wondering how many people follow CrossFit programs to train for hunting. I come from a Crossfit background and have owned 2 different CrossFit gyms. While I owned them, I was head trainer and programmer.

Just curious. Thanks!

marktole

WKR
I've been doing crossfit for about five years, but can't say I've ever used it to train for hunting.

ChrisC

Lil-Rokslider
I got a membership a few years ago to prepare for a blacktail hunt on Kodiak. I felt great for the first hour or so, but the hunt was for a week. Was it better than doing nothing...sure. Was it my best option...absolutely not, not by a long shot. It trains you for short and intense, not for a week-long grind.

OP
T
Never power cleaned or did a muscle up in the woods. If I wanted to be good at exercising I'd do crossfit.
As a former CrossFit owner, I've noticed a strong military presence in my gyms. Alot of military people choose CrossFit because it increases thier "GPP" or "general physical preparedness." Although soldiers are not doing muscle-ups or power cleans on the battlefield, many feel that it is a very viable training protocol for the unpredictable situations they may face.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

I sent twenty years in the military and didn't feel like crossfit did anything for me. It's like anything else, works for some, doesn't for others. I've got nothing against it, I just believe that if you want to be good at something, than do that something. Not everyone can live in the mountains, I get it, but I don't see how crossfit correlates to being in the mountains.

OP
T
I sent twenty years in the military and didn't feel like crossfit did anything for me. It's like anything else, works for some, doesn't for others. I've got nothing against it, I just believe that if you want to be good at something, than do that something. Not everyone can live in the mountains, I get it, but I don't see how crossfit correlates to being in the mountains.