Ketogenic meal plans - What do you do in the backcountry?

THBZN

Lil-Rokslider
I have been doing modified Ketogenic/"slow carb" eating for about 2 years now, and it works great for maintaining body weight, energy levels, keeping overall bloodwork numbers in check, etc. I can eat however much I want of the preferred foods. No watching portions, and all of that nonsense.
On the weekends, I throw in a 'cheat day' to stay sane, and have some pizza, some ice cream, the usual bad stuff. Back on the program come Monday. Works well.

But, when I go on backcountry hunts (3-6 days) I have found it really tough to stick to keto meals, and be able to bring the right stuff with me so I don't bonk after a big day covering lots of miles. I feel like maybe it isn't a big deal to deviate for hunts, where I am burning a lot of calories, and need the food to keep me going. My usual food consists of Mtn House meals, nuts, jerky, nut butter, a few GU packets, etc.

Does anyone have any other really good high fat/high protein/low carb snacks or meal ideas that might be a bit more on track with keto-style meal plans?

BuckSnort

WKR
I'll be following this as I have been meaning to post the same question, sort of...

I too have been doing Keto for close to 3 months now, down 30 lbs and wanna lose 20 more.. I have been hitting the hills with weight lately and when I go real hard I bonk pretty hard sometimes, my legs act like they have no more go in them when this happens..Maybe I need to eat more fat on the day leading up to the hard climbs? There's so much conflicting info it's hard to find reliable info other than trial and error..

I'm thinking it will be even harder to get the keto type of nutrients on a 3+ day backpack hunt.. I'm thinking I'll have to switch back to being a carb burner a week or two before season starts so I can pack and eat the normal backpacking food (high carb) not only for sustained energy/fuel but for ease of packing and meal planning as well..