Strenuous occupations

woods89

WKR
How many of you have highly physical occupations?

I'm a self employed carpenter here in southern MO. We do all kinds of carpentry work, this week we prepped and poured a concrete floor inside a house that had a rotten wood floor system and next week we will be installing a residential metal roof. Without even a trace of bragging, it's hard work. I often wake up the next morning with sore muscles. Most of this is done with a 15+lb tool belt on.

If this sounds familiar, how does that affect your preparation for hunting season? Sometimes a hard workout after a tough day at work seems like asking for an injury, but maybe I'm just paranoid. Obviously, I stay in pretty good shape, but is it the same kind of shape that a guy working out for 30 min a day at a gym is in? How does it translate to mountain shape? From my experience hiking here in MO, it means I have plenty of muscle capacity but my cardio needs maintainance. I don't know how that will work in the Rocky's, though. For reference, I'm 5' 8'' and 150 lbs, with very little body fat.

And if you drive a desk for a living ( using Randy Newburg's terms), please don't read any superiority here! I have plenty of guys in my phone contacts that drive a desk for a living that make it possible for me to do what I do!

Poser

WKR
From my experience, the body tends to adapt to job related physical stress to the extent that it is no longer a physical stressor. I started working a fairly physical job a couple of months ago. The first 2-3 weeks wiped me out, but after adjusting to it, it's really not a big deal. I've known people who work as movers and also train for competitive powerlifting who have described a similar experience. While it's not ideal for recovery from training and may hinder you some, once your body adjusts to the workload, it's not a big deal.