end all pair of binoculars

For the most part I like to be a buy once, cry once type of guy. I hate having to rebuy gear that I skimped on previously. Having said that, I don't have a ton of money right now but I do have an empty credit card and a few rifles to sell. So I am buy no means wealthy, however I intend to buy a high end set of glass and make it last. Price is a factor, but I am willing to bite the bullet on what ever I feel is within reason.

I am not an optics expert, I don't have a ton of experience looking through lots of pairs either. My current pair are Zen Ray ED3's. I've had them about 3 years now. they were "ok" optically but the durability left a lot to be desired. The armor is peeling off, the eye cups are locked up, and they feel kinda cheapo to me.

I'm looking for a pair that does most things well. I don't pack a spotter, nor do I usually try and spot game over a mile away. Glassing hillsides of brush and spotting deer several hundreds of yards away is more my style. At the same time I'm always stopping while I hike/hunt to scan the terrain just in around me. Constantly picking up and putting down the glass. I don't exactly baby my stuff either, so the bino will have to hold up to being squeezed through thorns, sticks, rocks, dirt, ect while on my chest.

I'm leaning towards swaro, mostly the 10x32 El swarovision or the 10x42 SCL's. Are the El's worth the extra $$$? I'm totally open to other choices and anything to save a buck or two.

If you took the time to read, I appreciate it. I hope you optically educated people can help me out.

Shrek

WKR