Vortex Viper Spotting Scope Reviews

FFBowhunter

Lil-Rokslider
I’m on a limited budget and as a firefighter I get a good discount with vortex. I am considering picking up the new viper line for 2018. I haven’t been able to get my hands on one yet so I was hoping to get some feedback. Let me know what you’re thoughts are! Someday I will get my swaro!

See my recent thread regarding the Viper vs the Athlon Ares. I'm leaning towards switching to the Ares for a superior scope. No one is defending the Viper. Athlon has a similarly good warranty as Vortex. Call Doug for a good deal.

boom

WKR
he gets a discount with Vortex, which i am assuming why he is asking specifically about them.

i have the Viper. the 65mm. it is my go-to scope for my AZ couse deer hunt i do every winter. one winter, two years ago, i had the luxury of going with my friends Leica APO. similar power. my friend had the more powerful 80mm (?) Razors. i set up all three. i tore the label off the bottom of my camp chair and hung it from a branch 70 yards away. i tried to read the text with every scope. you know what? they were all surprisingly clear. the Leica were crisper..the text was like it was right there in front of my face. my 65mm Vortex..just a tiny bit fuzzy..very tiny bit. the Razor looked the same but was brighter.

i gave the Leica's back because my friend took up hunting again. i do admit, it was nice having them in my gun safe to use. they are scratched and rough looking, but damn..they are crispy clear.

there is no real issues with my Vortex. i can see antlers out to as a far as i want. i might not be able to evaluate a buck to the minute detail, but i'm not at that level of couse bowhunter yet..i see an "okay" legal buck and i am after it..i dont need to debate the G2's or anything..

ill buy Leica if i ever hunt a sheep and need to count growth rings or something..:) or if i need to verify 50" antlers on a moose..