First backpacking hunt/camera

Scott/IL

Lil-Rokslider
I will be leaving for Alaska next month on a backcountry black bear hunt. My friend is bringing a GoPro, and I'm wanting to find a good camera that takes video (4k is awesome, but is the price worth the upgrade over 1080?).

Looking for any and all suggestions! I've read a bunch already and still can't make up my mind. I'm a complete newb with cameras.

Sent from my LGLS992 using Tapatalk

I will be leaving for Alaska next month on a backcountry black bear hunt. My friend is bringing a GoPro, and I'm wanting to find a good camera that takes video (4k is awesome, but is the price worth the upgrade over 1080?).

Looking for any and all suggestions! I've read a bunch already and still can't make up my mind. I'm a complete newb with cameras.

Whats your budget? what are you looking to get out of it. ILC or fixed?

OP
Scott/IL

Scott/IL

Lil-Rokslider
I would like to keep the budget sub 500 (if that's even possible). As far as lenses go....well I'm green enough to not really know right now.

Last edited:
I don't know anything about cameras but enjoy the trip and good luck with the hunt!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JWW

WKR
Pick one from the Sony Alpha line, hard to go wrong and offer some very packable mirrorless offerings like the A6000 I use.

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member
Do you also want it to be a still camera? If so a DSLR/mirrorless type camera like a Sony A6000 or Canon T series would be a good starter choice. If your only wanting video and a simple run and gun setup I'd look to the Sony handycams.. they have good built in stabilization, zoom and pretty good auto modes.