Super zooms

lang

Lil-Rokslider
Wondering if anyone has tried any of the superzoom 4K cameras out; Nikon Coolpix B700, Panasonic Lumix DC-FZ80, Canon PowerShot SX60 HS, etc...

bigmoose

WKR
I haven't tried any of those yet but the one I would be interested in is the Sony RX10 IV. It's pricey ($1700) but may be the best for image quality. I've been shooting a Canon SX10 IS for quite a few years with good results. Before that, a Canon S3 IS. I'm thinking it may be time to update again.

The Sony RX10 IV shoots 4K and gets great reviews as a video camera.

Last edited:
Ive had the SX50, 30, and the Sony RX10 III.

The RX10 III is a stunning camera that edges the SX50 HS at the far end and destroys it under 1200mm equivalent (with clear image zoom).

If it were my money, for wildlife, I’d buy the RX10 IV or a GX8 + Panasonic Leica 100-400 and not look back.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We have been selling the Canon and Nikon. Both are good cameras. If video is important then the Canon SX60 is not 4K. If the image is the most important for stills then the best in this class is the Sony DSC-HX400. It has a real Zeiss lens, is great in low light and, IMO, the best for photographs.
Feel free to contact me with any questions

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've been using the Panasonic for our kill shots on the show and I really like the idea/form factor of the super zooms but I'm not a fan of that Panasonic. I just don't like their menu systems on any of their cameras. Beyond that it completely loses focus when you have it about zoomed all the way back...whether your in manual focus or not, it completely blows out and comes back in. With how little I use it, it's ok but if it were more of a main camera I'd be switching.

OP
lang

lang

Lil-Rokslider