Camera Help!

I'm looking at getting into wildlife photography as well as self-filming and I have ZERO knowledge on cameras. I'd like to keep it around the $500 range. Would love to hear some suggestions on what avenue I should take

deadwolf

WKR
I am in the same boat, and after a bit of research, I just bought a Sony A6000 from cameralandny. Seems to be a good “beginner” camera but it will cost a bit more than the $500 budget. I almost bit the bullet and went for the A6300 but my thought was to start here and then if things go well and I’m liking the camera then I might get an A6500 down the road in a year or two. I’m sure others as well as Joel from Cameraland will chime in here shortly.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

colonel00

WKR
Wildlife photography might be a bit of a challenge at that budget but it depends on what exactly you want to shoot and how close you can get. Usually you are going to need a long lens for some reach and this is the opposite of what you'd probably want for self filming.

For me, I have a DSLR with several lenses that I use for wildlife/landscape/astrophotography. For a lightweight yet still "good" camera for carrying on hunts I have a Canon G7x II that also functions should I want to do any filming.

bigmoose

WKR
The professional wildlife photographers use some pretty expensive equipment to get the awesome shots they take. Well above your $500 budget. One type of camera you might be interested in is a bridge camera. These cameras have the ability to shot both up close and far away. The image quality may not be as good as the pro camera set up but you can get one much cheaper and most these days do a good job with image quality. The Panasonic FZ300 is one example of this type camera and is in your budget at $449. You can check this one and others out at this site.
Panasonic FZ300 Review

wesfromky

WKR