Contemplating expanding business to hunting, fishing, and outdoors photography

Lebeda33

FNG
Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to photography (1.5 years of experience with DSLR cameras). I am now fully confident in my ability to use my camera well.

I have a passion for outdoor recreation (hunting/fishing) and I wanted to expand my photography business to include photo shoots for hunters and anglers. To start, I was thinking of photographing day to overnight hunting, fishing, and hiking trips.

As a hunter and angler, there are times that I wish someone was able to capture memories of me and my hunting buddies.

What do you think? Is this an idea that I should pursue? If so, what would you be willing to pay someone for a full day of photography while you were recreating in the outdoors?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jimmy

Lil-Rokslider
Personally as just a regular guy who works a job and goes hunting in the fall, no I wouldn't pay for a photographer. Even though I know you'd take far better pictures than me or a buddy would. I just can't justify paying money for that.

Perhaps there's a market taking photos for hunters who are sponsored or guys looking for quality pictures for magazines and social media.

Personally as just a regular guy who works a job and goes hunting in the fall, no I wouldn't pay for a photographer. Even though I know you'd take far better pictures than me or a buddy would. I just can't justify paying money for that.

Perhaps there's a market taking photos for hunters who are sponsored or guys looking for quality pictures for magazines and social media.

The last paragraph is the kind of person you’re looking for. You want to enter the professional realm for business, advertising, sponsored hunters, or people that are putting out their own type of media that need good photos to go along with it, but might have not the time, skill, or equipment.

I assume you’re proficient in editing programs?