Passed on a Lion

Ya pretty much what I heard from my local guys. Couple of things to consider on my end. I was helping on a cow elk hunt that happened to be my son and dads first ever elk tag. My dad is 70 years old, both dad and son told me to take him but I didn't want to lose a day or two taking care of that cat. In AZ it's mandatory check in on lions so I would have wrecked prime time in that spot and had to leave to handle the game and fish. No brainier for me on just those notes.
I will say I am new to hunting by most measurements but I do know what I want out of a hunt, tripping over an animal I wasn't hunting and calling it a hunt is just not for me. In the end I had 10 minutes to decide and it only took 1.
For the record I have 10 minutes of HD video of this and an hour later a 300 plus bull walked in for a bonus. The picture I snapped was with my phone through a scope so quality was poor but cool pic with cross hairs.
Funny thing was after that bull came in dad and son never even mentioned that lion. Haha they talked about that bull all night.

Makes complete sense. I'm sure your dad and son appreciate it. I understand better now.

kscowboy01

Lil-Rokslider
Boom. Where I hunt in NM, when a cat moves in, the elk vanish for 3-4 days.

My father got one years ago guiding my sister on elk. It walked right to water in the late afternoon. They found a fresh deer kill on the way to where they were sitting that evening. Oh, and they didn't see any elk on the property due to a cat being in the vicinity.

Riles1050

Lil-Rokslider
I for sure would harvested that cat. Predator control in the exact area you hunt would have a huge positive impact on the elk and deer population for years to come. Much rather ruin one day of cow elk hunting for several to many better years moving forward.

npm352

WKR