Bay Area FNG

Hey folks,
I've been lurking and using the forums for a while now but never posted anything because I found the forums intimidating as a total noob who doesn't know anything :| .... gotta start somewhere though. I decided I want to get into hunting in early 2016 and went to BPS to check out rifles. I ended up getting lost in the archery section for a little too long, went home and did research on bow hunting and that was the end of it for me. Got a bow, learned to shoot, but haven't killed anything yet. I've tried to go out for pigs on public lands within ~3 hours drive of San Jose but have never actually seen a live pig (I'm starting to doubt they exist, it's all just a ruse to generate tag sales at ~$25/tag). I was in Mendocino National Forest for deer last year but had no luck.

Thanks all!

OP
F
Welcome to the forum, since you've been lurking you know this place is a black hole for time and money....

Lol! I can see how it can be but since I started out without ANY gear , the whole experience has been a black hole for money. All my purchases have been preceded by Google searches for '*product name* rokslide' to get insight and gear reviews. It's been a pretty invaluable tool!

The real problem is that i read through some of the DIY tent threads... I might have to learn how to use a sewing machine...

willidru

WKR
Welcome, don't be discouraged. Public land hunting in CA is not easy. Blacktail are ghosts, it will take some time and real effort. Good luck. If you can start looking into some out of state opportunities.

OP
F
Welcome, don't be discouraged. Public land hunting in CA is not easy. Blacktail are ghosts, it will take some time and real effort. Good luck. If you can start looking into some out of state opportunities.

Thanks! I only really get discouraged when I'm on my way back with an unpunched tag. It passes reallll fast though and I'm ready to get out again. Someday one day, I'll find success.

boom

WKR