Archery elk in 2017

garrickt

Lil-Rokslider
Looks like I will finally make it happen in 2017. So far planning on going solo but would be more than willing to find 1 or more partners.
Still researching but looking at an Idaho or CO OTC unit. Not looking to kill a monster. Hoping for any legal bull but really want to get some elk meat in the freezer so a cow will make me plenty happy as well.
Probably look to set a base camp and do a few 3-4 day backpack hunts out of it but nothing is set in stone. All I know is I want to hit it hard and give myself the best chance possible.
No mountain hunting experience but I do have backpacking, rock climbing and backcountry skiing experience in the mountains so I am not a newbie to working hard in elevation even though I live in WI.

40watt

FNG
I am targeting CO in 2017 for my first backcountry hunt as well.
Taking the time to collect gear and train all the necessary skills.
Assumed I would be solo, but as its closer I will have a clearer picture of how it will go down.
Very little hiking or hunting experience, but I have a great attitude and I don't quit.
Any animal would satisfy me, and even without that, escaping to the mountains and gaining valuable experience is what I really need.
So I'll try to be available if you like.

Deerjunky

FNG
I'm also looking for someone who may be interested in doing an archery elk hunt for 2017 in CO. I have a good deal of whitetail experience and backpacking experience although I haven't done an elk hunt yet or backpack hunt yet. I'm out for the first legal elk I can get a shot at so standards are low for animal quality, I am more interested in trip quality. If either or both of you are looking for a partner(s)

PA 5-0

WKR
Keep me in the loop here fellas. I'm hitting CO next Fall. If I don't draw 4, it will be an OTC adventure. Hunting partners always make it more fun.

freshta

WKR