The wife says I can't go alone.

So, many have heard it. The wife is scared if I go into the mountains by myself. I am looking for a partner in Northwest Wyoming. I didn't draw any good tags this year, so I will be hunting general deer and elk. I am new to backpack hunting, but I have to start some time. If anybody has a good tag and just needs help packing stuff out, I can do that too. Anything to get me out away from the roads and learning new stuff.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

mfolch

WKR
Renting a satellite phone or personal locator beacon with text messaging capabilities can go a very long way in these kinds of situations. And it's in your interest too. The first time I went on a solo hunt and was out of reach for 10 days I came back and my wife had purchased a new apartment...

dotman

WKR
I've had my wife complain about a lot but she never said a thing about going solo other then make sure your insurance is all updated.

Seriously a Delorme Inreach is worth the price and peace of mind it gives loved ones.

AdamW

WKR
Delorme InReach for sure. Way more trustworthy than some jackleg you met on the internet. :D

tttoadman

WKR
I've had my wife complain about a lot but she never said a thing about going solo other then make sure your insurance is all updated.

Seriously a Delorme Inreach is worth the price and peace of mind it gives loved ones.
I have asked my wife a couple times if she wants me to get the in-reach. She pretty much doesn't care anymore, and helps me pack...and yes the insurance is always paid first.

Just get a spot or inreach. My wife worries a bit, but it is what it is. I've never hunted with anyone else, but just because you go with someone, doesn't mean it's any safer.

jwb300

WKR
Tell her you are going to go and find your balls that she hid in the shed and they will come with you :) :) :) ;)

Tanya Avery

Administrator
Staff member