Where to start....confused new guy

So, I am new to hunting, and am trying to set goals for returning to my native land (the blessed United States of America... Stuck in Sweden for the time being) for my first USA hunt. Species and weapon aside, just considering units in a given state, how the hell does one which unit to focus on? Say for example, if I wanted to hunt mule deer in eastern Oregon (family in Oregon makes logistics easier)some day, these are controlled hunts from what I understand...If I were to apply each year to build up points while pursuing OTC tags, how does someone with no experience know which friggin' unit to be applying for? Any help/info? And no, this isn't specifically about Oregon mule deer, but insert state and species, whichever... I just want a general idea, how to decide a given unit in a state for whatever species and weapon one decides on....thanks!

Skickat från min E5823 via Tapatalk

There are subscription services that analyze draw odds, trophy quality, etc. I haven't used them, so I can't tell you much other than that. I'm sure others on here will chime in, though.

SLDMTN

Super Moderator
Staff member
I have zero insight on where to hunt in the lower 48 states. If I were considering it though, I would join gohunt.com. They're a Rokslide sponsor also.

JeremiahH

WKR
If I were new to hunting I would come home and put efforts in the over the counter areas and gain that experience and knowledge and simultaneously learn other regional draw areas. Oregon has some great OTC opportunities, Columbia blacktail for one. Then learn the local and regional draw units and expand from there

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

Ross

Super Moderator
Staff member
I second looking for OTC the counter hunts either in your home state or across the border to Idaho. I live in Washington and simply drive to Idaho and Montana hunting OTC units. Took awhile to learn mt but has added to the fun👍 And anticipation of scouting and learning each year

Murdy